Eben Hopson

14 MAY 1974: Nome Nugget

Demos Set Convention

Democrats headed by Gov. and Mrs. William A. Egan will be here the weekend of May 24, 25, and 26.

The occasion will be the State Democratic convention. Upwards of 400 people, including delegates are expected to converge on Nome.

Among others who have booked hotel space for the “big one” are Lt. Gov. and Mrs. Red Boucher, Sen. and Mrs. Mike Gravel, State Sen. Willie Hensley who hopes to unseat US Rep. Don Young, and Dick Greuel of Fairbanks who has an eye on the Senate seat now held by Gravel.

Gov. Egan will be the principal speaker and will address the group at a dinner to be given at the Caldwell National Guard Armory on Saturday evening, May 25. The public is invited to attend the function and meet the announced candidates.

Tickets will be on sale at various places in town at $15 per copy beginning May 20.

These are the delegates for the various Northwest Alaska districts:

DISTRICT 19 — Moses Paulkin, St. Mary’s; Alex Johnson, Emmonak; Marty Moore, Emmonak; Leo Moses, Chevak; and Dave Jorgensen, Alukanuk.

ALTERNATES — David Prince, Kotlik; Frank Alstrum, Alukanuk; Jacob John, Emmonak; Doug Sheppard, Mountain Village; and George Sipary, St. Mary’s.

DISTRICT 18 — Check Degnan, Unalakleet; Larry Davis, Nome; Stan Harhut, Nome; Frank Degnan, Unalakleet; Bob Scott, Nome; Al Nakak, Nome; Bob Renshaw, Nome; and Don Perkins, Nome.

ALTERNATES — Barb Trigg, Nome; Winfred Jones, Gambell; Abner Gologergen, Savoonga; Moses Otten, St. Michael; John Poling, Nome; Prentiss Harris, Nome; Helen Lockwood, Clarence Katchatag, Shaktoolik; Morris Coffey, Stebbins; Dan Karmun, Nome; Ed Gologergen, Savoonga; Roger Nassuk, Koyuk; Ernie Nylin, Elim; Tom Brown Sr., White Mountain; Jonah Tokieanna, Wales; Stan Fricke Sr., Nome; Robert Iyatunguk, Nome; Everett Gibbs, Nome; Chris Encelewski, Nome; Harry Boone, Golovin; Luch Outwater, Nome; and Ralph Smith, Nome.

DISTRICT 17 — Vince Schuerch, Kiana; Robert Newlin, Noorvik; Dennis Tiepelman, Kotzebue; Sophie Ferguson, Kotzebue; Frank Ferguson, Willie Hensley, Art Fields, Sr., Marie Fields, all of Kotzebue; Marie Schuerch, Kiana; Eben Hopson and Lloyd Ahvakana of Barrow.

ALTERNATES — Joe Upickson and Oliver Levitt of Barrow; Leo Schaeffer Jr., Ronald Munson and Robert Schaeffer, all of Kotzebue; Sally Johnson, Laban Iyatunguk and Irene Iyatunguk of Nome.